Brief Introduction of Edward’s Personal Preference Schedule (EPPS)

Brief Introduction of Edward’s Personal Preference Schedule (EPPS)

Posted on

Brief Introduction of Edward’s Personal Preference Schedule (EPPS)EPPS or Edward’s Personal Preference Schedule is another personality or we can call it the inventory test to view your personality, and also needs. The EPPS Test use the same grand theory, the Murray theory of human needs, which is the same grand theory as the TAT personality test.

Although Edward’s Personal Preference Schedule has same theory with the TAT, but the administration, type, and also focused or main purpose of the EPPS is different from the TAT test. The EPPS only shows information about human needs, conflict, and how people overcome it.

Administration of EPPS (Edward’s Personal Preference Schedule)

The EPPS (Edward’s Personal Preference Schedule) consist of 225 statements, that came from daily life. You have to choose one of two statements in each number. So, there will be a 225 x 2 statement, 450 statements on this EPPS. It’s clear to see that EPPS test is one of the most energy-taking test. It is important to you to saves energy before taking this test. As a participant, you have to choose A or B in each question, which fits you the best.

Human Needs of EPPS (Edward’s Personal Preference Schedule) Test

As mentioned above, the Edward’s Personal Preference Schedule will show your basic needs, and how to overcome your conflict. There are 15 main point of human needs:


The best way to score your achievement need, and your obsession to achieve something in your life.


Score your deference status, obey, and also conformity.


This need will show how responsible you are, and how systematic you are when trying to do or finished something up.


Exhibition is about your need to express yourself, optimistic, and also believe in yourself.


Of course, the autonomy is about being autonomous, independent, and also establishment.


Need of affiliation, relation, and above all, need of other people in their life.


This is the need of sympathetic behavior, care, and also empathy.


Succorance is a human need of being taken care of.


Well, it’s obvious that this is need of power, dominance, and also giving order to other.


This is a need to be blame. People with this need, will often blame their self.


Nurturance is a need to taking care of others, and also helping others anytime.


This is human need to change their own life, turn their life into something, and becoming a new person.


When you are need to be more diligent, or persistent, this is the perfect need for you.


This is the sexual need of human. Relation with heterosexual, and anything mentioned by heterosexuality.


Well, this will indicate people who always fight, aggression, bullying, and many things related with aggressive behavior.

That’s the main characteristic and brief introduction to the EPPS test, The Edward’s Personal Preference Schedule. For scoring, and interpretation of EPPS, you’ll find it on the next post.

How To Score And Interpret The EPPS Test?

The EPPS or Edward’s Personal Preference Schedule is a kind of test which can show your basic needs, and also your conflicts. Nearly the same theory with TAT or CAT test, produced from Murray’s grand theory, the EPPS consist of 225 numbers, with 2 statements on each number. So there will be a 450 statements in one EPPS paper test.

To pass this test, all you have to do is just choose one best statement, that fit yourself from two statements showed in each number. the result of this EPPS test will be your basic needs, and also conflicts. As you know, there are 15 basic needs provide in this EPPS test, there are:

  1. Achievement
  2. Deference
  3. Order
  4. Exhibition
  5. Autonomy
  6. Affiliation
  7. Intraception
  8. Succorance
  9. Dominance
  10. Abasement
  11. Nurturance
  12. Change
  13. Endurance
  14. Heterosexuality
  15. Aggression

For more information about the meaning of those 15 basic needs, you can read our previous post about the brief introduction of EPPS test.

Interpretation of EPPS (Edward’s Personal Preference Schedule)

Well, maybe we can’t tell you much about how you can score this EPPS test, because it’s kind of ethical issues. But, we will tell you about the interpretation of the EPPS test. There are six main symbols showed on EPPS interpretation. The six symbols are +, -, ++, –, +++, —.

Those six symbols will showed on each 15 basic needs of human. So, EPPS will scored and interpret how you maintain your own basic needs. There are some calculating skill to define whether your needs are +, -, ++, –, +++, or —. Here are some explanation from those six symbols.

  1. (+) one plus symbol means you have your struggle and spirits to achieve your own needs. You will keep fighting so you can achieve them.
  2. (-) one minus symbol means you are tend to throw away your needs. It’s like you have omission of your own needs, and not care at all.
  3. (++) two plus symbol means that you are ready to achieve your needs. You are ready to do many things related on your own basic needs.
  4. (–) two minus symbol means that you are trying to repressed your own basic needs, and try to distinguish them
  5. (+++) three plus symbol means that you are trying too hard and struggle too much to achieve your needs.
  6. (—) three minus symbol means that you are tend to obsessed to distinguish your own needs. It’s like you are trying to much not to care at all to your own basic needs.

That’s all the interpretation of the EPPS test. There are some kind of relation and personality dynamic within the result of the EPPS test. This result can be some kind of reference for yourself, or others, to know how to maintain own basic needs.